Vacation Generation Logo
The BEST Resource for Guest Reviews of Wyndham's
GRAND DESERT RESORT in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Email: info@vacationgeneration.com
Phone: 1 (302) 394-9417

Reviews of Wyndham Grand Desert Resort - Las Vegas, Nevada

William S -
From Washington

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Beautiful and quiet compared to noisy casino hotels.”
We just about always stay at the Grand Dessert. I'm surprised I found it listed under hotels as it is all condos. We like it because you can get in and out fast without shuffling behind a bunch of people on the strip and the parking is close and free. The pools are convenient and very pleasant. They have activities daily such as a trip to the outlets, grocery shopping, crafts, wine and beer socials in the afternoon. We have stayed in the larger 2 and 3 bedroom units which are very plush but usually we get a one bedroom DELUXE because it has a jazcuzzi in the room. All the units have a washer and dryer and full size kitchen. I like NOT have a housekeeper knocking on the door daily...they leave you alone all week. They will bug you to come to their timeshare promotion and we usually do. It's not bad and they give you a show or 150.00 bucks or a food credit at harrah's ect. The seats for the show are usually in the back of the theater.
Reviewed December 2015

JVDesigns -
Huntington Beach, California

“An awesome place to stay that is walking distance to the strip”
I have stayed here dozens of times throughout the years--as it is impossible to stay at a regular "strip" hotel room after you have stayed here. The deluxe units are the way to go--and the rooms are perfect for either small or large groups. The deluxe units are avialable in multiple numbers of bedrooms (1 to 3) and they have full kitchens, a full living room, jacuzzi tubs, washer and dryer, and are laid out perfectly. The hotel is located about a block from the strip on Harmon avenue---so you are basically walking distance to City Center, the Cosmo, Planet Hollywood, the MGM Grand and even the Hard Rock Hotel. One of the things that makes this hotel a great place to stay are the "small things" that you might not get on "Strip hotels". First of all--two very nice size pools that are very well maintained that are never over crowded. Also---the tv's get sooo many more channels than the average strip hotel which is really nice. Add that to the free computer lab with free printing, the free game room, the free gym, the well priced cafe and coffee stand---and this place just gets better and better. The only reason why I didn't give this place a five star review is because of the "timeshare" sales pitch aspect of it. It's hard to ding a perfect place a star for doing their jobs---but I am not a fan of salespeople that try to continue to make a sale after hearing the first "no". Don't get me wrong--I've never experienced high pressure from salespeople here--but I've had to politely say no two to three times almost every time I do stay here which gets a tad annoying.
Reviewed December 2015

EmilyC013 -
Cobourg Canada

“Excellent alternative!”
Booked a three bedroom unit for 6 adults and 6 month old baby and had plenty of room! Suite was clean,well equipped and large enough to accommodate us all. Baby cot available was clean and brought to the room quickly after check in. The kitchen was perfect for breakfast and snacks - saves walking around the strip looking for a decent, fairly priced coffee first thing in the morning. Grounds were incredibly well kept and the pools were excellent. Shuttle to the strip was also great and even if you didn't take the shuttle, it was only a 15-20 minute walk (which in Vegas is a short jaunt). Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again in a minute.
Stayed October 2015, travelled with family
Reviewed November 2015

PaulineC -
Springfield
“Love this resort!”
I loved this resort. We were celebrating my husband's birthday. upon check-in they have wine. We had relaxing massages at the on site spawithin an hour of checking in. Rooms are well maintained clean and comfortable.We had a room overlooking beautiful pool in tower one. Our 1 bedroom suite included kitchen, livingroom and laundry. The resort is off the strip but has a free shuttle to take guests to and from Harrah's. The activities dept offers additional trips to Fremont Street and other attractions at a nominal fee. We were travelling without children so were able to relax at the adult pool with cocktails and cabanas. The resort has a movie theatre and game room on the activities floor that any family would enjoy. I could see someone staying here and never leaving the resort.There is a convenience store and cafe. A bar in the lobby. Lots to enjoy. It's definitely not a hotel it's luxury condo living.
Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
Reviewed November 2015 via mobile

John M -
Studio City

As we were here to work CES, one of the largest Vegas events all year, prices at Strip hotels were crazy. The previous year our company had paid several hundred a night for Treasure Island, three co-workers to a room, not worth it - so Wyndham was a great find. We had a three-bedroom condo for a week, and it cost the same as a few nights at TI.

Interiors are a little dated but extremely spacious, with a full kitchen, living area, and large dining table that was perfect for work. Master had its own bathroom, with the other bath shared between the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms. The pool seemed large and nice, though we didn't take a dip in the 50 degree January weather.

Wyndham is really perfect if you need somewhere to settle in for awhile or you're traveling with a group, the only drawback being it is off-Strip and doesn't have a casino. If you really want that experience, you may not enjoy the extra distance; since we were here for work, it wasn't a big factor, and I'd say it was better to return to more home-like comforts at the end of each long day. We had a nice view of the Strip, which is a 10-minute walk or couple minutes drive away. Parking was always easy, and getting in and out is much easier than Strip hotels can be.

Nathalie W -
Oakland US

I give this hotel a solid 4 stars!
Here's why:
*Spacious rooms
*Nice pools, one adult with a live DJ on Fridays/Saturdays
*Kitchen in the room (blender, oven, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, stove, fridge, freezer, pots, pans, utensils, cups, plates)
*Very classy decor
*Free shuttle to the strip!
*Free drinks in the lobby (mimosas in the afternoon)
*Friendly staff
*Jacuzzi in room
*Clean
*Free game room
*Affordable price

Why not 5 stars?:
*Towers are confusing.
*Elevator makes you insert your key before you can go to your floor
*Limited parking

I really love this hotel, I would stay here again! Although check-in is at 4pm, they still let you pre-register so you can use all the amenities until they call you when your room is ready! So we got there at 1pm, used the pool til 2:30pm, and then checked in and got ready for EDC. I just hated how since there were so many people there for EDC, there was no parking and we had to park next door!

Love how there's a game room with a pool table, video games, etc. and a marketplace to buy groceries so you can cook food in your full-sized kitchen! We made steak and hash browns and watermelon juice with our blender. Not to mention pizza also! There's also a jacuzzi in the room that has jets! Perfect for after you walk on the strip using the free shuttle! I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I'm staying with 3 others.

Analiz R -
Bloomfield
Hubby and I invited to stay here with friends in a 2 bedroom suite on 14th floor. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable all around. Includes a master bedroom with jacuzzi tub and bath, living room, fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer & second bedroom with two double beds. The beds here are very comfortable.

Location is good for those who like peace and quiet. Half a mile away from the strip, just a few blocks from Planet Hollywood. We've walked it a few times which is not too bad but they also provide a shuttle bus service right to the heart of the strip at the Harrah's.

There are two great looking pools to enjoy but I can't review here as the weather was too cold for me to get in there. I did see several people enjoying it as the water is heated to over 80 degrees. There are also several conversation areas, firepits, hot tubs and cabanas in the outdoor common area.

As several people have mentioned, thus IS a timeshare location so there is no maid service daily which to me is perfectly fine as I prefer not having anyone in the room during my stay. The staff has been very friendly and extremely helpful to us. Wwe did sit through a timeshare presentation in order to et some free goodies. It was worth a few hours of our time. In return we got two tickets for a great show, two passes for Maddame Teusau Wax Museum, two gondola rides at the Venetian, and an awesome dinner for two at Tortefinos Restaurant also at the Venetian.

All in all, its been a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back.

Eric Pena Jr.
October 2015
The Wyndham is not too far from the strip. About 3 blocks away. Very welcoming and warm staff. The room feels as if you are living at home with a kitchen, laundry and even a bathtub. I would recommend the Wyndham to other customers. Great experience overall.

Marlon Brendo
October 2015
Gorgeous property! Staff was very attentive and extremely friendly. We stayed in the 3 bedroom on the 8th floor. Phenomenal service and quality. Near the strip, quick and easy shuttle service to and from Harrah's. Close enough for convenience, far enough for peace. I highly recommend Wyndham's products and services.

Lyndsi Winer
December 2014
I always have a great time when I visit this hotel. I have stayed here between 6-8 times over the last 10 years and it's always a great time. It's quiet and away from the craziness of the strip but, also close enough to be right into the mix in no time. I've had some BEAUTIFUL views of the strip from my room. They can accommodate groups with up to 4 separate rooms sleeping 12 I do believe. All the way down to one bedrooms with kitchenettes. They have two separate pools one for just adults and also have a nice little deli on site. It's a huge hotel so sometimes it's hard to get down the exact elevator or path to your room but it's never extremely busy so usually it's easy to find parking and get around. It's less than a 5 min drive to the strip and they also offer shuttle buses to Harrahs. The rooms are always clean and so comfortable I feel like I'm at a home away from home. If you need anything the concierge and front desk is available 24/7 for your needs. They can also help if you need any assistance with deciding what to do and usually have some coupons to utilize. I find the prizes they give for just listening to their vacation ownership presentations are totally worth it. Last time I got a free breakfast which was hot and decent and also over 100$ to just talk with a member for 20 mins or so. Who knows maybe you'll feel you want to invest your money with this company like my family has and have wonderful places to stay on all your vacations. I will be visiting the Grand Desert again on the second weekend of Oct 2014 and I can't wait!!

TRIP ADVISOR

Vemund F
“Wyndham business stay” 4 Star
The apartment we rented was very nice. There were three of us travelling together, and one bed for each in the apartment. Good solid room and good view from 5th floor in tower 3. A bit sound from the hallway, but unnoticable when inside one of the bedrooms. It's only a short walk from Wyndham to The Strip and you can take one of the many shuttles going from Wyndham to Harrahs, which brings you into the center of the Casino world. There are pools, a bar and eating place, but we did not have much time to experience any of these things.
Stayed October 2015
Reviewed December 2015.

MsButter202
Washington DC, District of Columbia
“Great home away from home!” 4 STAR
We stayed in a 3 bedroom presidential for my son's 21st birthday. This was my 5th time staying here. I love saving money on overpriced things (like breakfast) so that I can spend more on other things (like libations and shopping). Having a complete kitchen was wonderful! We rented a car and returned it after 1 day. I knew I wanted to go to the grocery store the next morning after our late arrival. Imagine my surprise when the Wyndham Bus was outside of the same grocery store! I will not be renting a car on my return next week but be sure to catch the shuttle for our weeks stay of necessities.
Our room was amazing! No complaints at all. We even rented a cabana outside of the adult pool one day to just relax at the resort. Not sure I would do that again. I was expecting a fridge like the one in Florida but it didn't have it. They also don't want you to bring your own alcohol. Maybe for fear of broken glass. I understand the safety but this is Vegas where people take drinks everywhere!
For those of you complaining about the timeshare pitch, DUH....this is a timeshare resort! What do you expect? Just say NO and move on. Make it very clear you do not want to be disturbed.
I don't miss not staying on the strip. It's nice to get away from the noise when you're ready. I caught the shuttle to the strip, although the excited 21-23 year olds didn't mind walking. I can't imagine staying in a smaller hotel room. I only wish they had a balcony with the rooms.
I will be returning in a week for my birthday celebration! Can't get enough of Vegas!
Stayed June 2015, travelled with family
Reviewed November 2015.

Soapy15
“Still an amazing experience” 5 STAR
This is my 5th time staying at the Grand Desert. We stayed in a more updated room in tower 3. Spacious, clean, loved it. I searched for reviews on here about how the sofa bed was, and could never find one. It was our first time having to use it, due to limited space at the resort the weekend we were there (Oct 6 - 11). I searched for months for a 2 bedroom, and one just never became available. We were a party of 4 adults, with family visiting from overseas, so we had them take the master bedroom, and hubby and I slept on the sofa bed. Where it couldn't compare to an actual bed, we were surprised at how comfortable it was for being a sofa bed. The mattress was very thick, and the frame was solid and sturdy - no bar in the back like some of the old sofas are. 

Customer service was amazing as always. We requested towels and and extra set of bedding, and received it within 20 minutes. They would always call to followup and make sure we received what we requested. 

This resort is not for night life, and dining. It is for "going home in luxury" after running around Vegas all day. We love it!
Room Tip: Tower 3 is easiest to navigate, with its own 24 hour pool. Higher floors have views of the strip.
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
Reviewed November 2015

Carteego
Sydney, Canada
“Very nice resort" 5 STAR
We had a very quiet relaxing time while staying at Wyndham Grand Desert.The pool area is very nice, although we did not use the pools.There is a very nice outdoor sitting area that we did use frequently.They have a place to get a good breakfast and a selection of other meals, tea ,or coffee and a nice gift shop.The staff was very good and friendly and we found them very helpful when we needed them.It was only a 15 minute walk to the Vegas Strip or you could take the free shuttle.The suites are large compared to some places.
Room Tip: Different views are available. We did not hear anything from our room.
Reviewed Novermber 2015.

HOTELS.COM

Deborah
CANADA

5.0 / 5
Outstanding
"Great resort with lots to do, yet walk to strip"
Stayed 10 nights. Great condo with fully equiped kitchen. Very comfortable king bed. sofa pulled out to a very comfortable queen bed. Jacuzzi tub for two in unit. Resort supplied toiletries, paper products and dishwasher cleaners. 3 heated pools and 3 hot tubs , could even use in quite cool temps. Beautifully kept grounds. Facility was very clean everywhere . Nice gymn. activity centre with lots for kids. free movie rentals. Small coffee shop/ bistro, but food was really good with generous portions. Starbucks coffee, wine and beer . Small casino and bar , very uncommon with vacation clubs apparently. Discount tickets for Vegas shows right on site. VERY good shuttles to the strip if you don't feel like walking. Shuttles to a reasonably priced grocery store as well as very popular shopping districts.

Paul
GREAT BRITAIN

4.0 / 5
Excellent
"Fab Hotel for families"
We booked this hotel as we needed 2 bedrooms at a reasonable price in Las Vegas. Hotel is fab and was perfect for us. 2 large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Suite was very clean and well supplied with towels, and all kitchen necessities. The staff were all polite, friendly and professional. The shuttle to Harrahs was used and very efficient. We didn't use the pools but noted they were not very busy and there were lots of loungers in the shade. I would recommend this hotel for families and those who want an oasis after a hectic day on the Strip in this crazy city.


Vacation Generation Owl Logo © 2015-2016 Vacation Generation LLC.
The Best Vacation Condo Rental Company in The Universe.
Email: info@vacationgeneration.com
Phone: 1-302-394-9417
Link to Contact Form